2014 Award Recipient

The Visible Ingredient
John E. Murphy

Read Bio
Read Lecture (PDF)

John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP

John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP, is Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science and Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs at the College of Pharmacy, and Professor of Family and Community Medicine at the College of Medicine, the University of Arizona in Tucson. He is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Otago School of Pharmacy in Dunedin, New Zealand. John received BS in pharmacy and Pharm.D. degrees from the University of Florida in Gainesville, where he was a recipient of the Distinguished Pharmacy Alumnus Award in 1998.

Dr. Murphy is a pioneer in the field of clinical pharmacokinectics and he helped develop and directed one of the first formal pharmacokinetic monitoring services at Georgia Baptist Medical Center in Atlanta. His research on the extent and impact of pharmacokinetic services provided by pharmacists in hospitals has been instrumental in broadening their use in patient care.

Long active in pharmacy organizations, Dr. Murphy was president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) from 1997-1998, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) from 2008-2009, and the Georgia Society of Hospital Pharmacists.

Dr. Murphy has published over 200 papers, ~ 100 abstracts, five editions of Clinical Pharmacokinetics, and the Resident Survival Guide. He is co-editor of the Pharmacotherapy Self-Assessment Program (PSAP 8) for ACCP with Mary Lee and is currently writing a new basic and applied pharmacokinetic self-assessment textbook for ASHP. He is a frequent speaker at international, national, and statewide continuing education meetings.

Among various professional and teaching awards received over the years, Dr. Murphy received the Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature of Pharmacy Practice from the ASHP Research and Education Foundation in 2003 and the Education Award from ACCP in 2012.