2013 Award Recipient

Pharmacy's bucket list: Lean in
Jannet M. Carmichael

Read Bio
Read Lecture (PDF)

Jannet M. Carmichael, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP, FAPhA

Jannet M. Carmichael is Pharmacy Executive for Veterans Integrated Service Network (VISN) 21, where she coordinates safe and cost-effective use of medications through pharmacy services, formulary management, and health analytics in a network of Veterans Affairs (VA) health care systems in northern California, northern Nevada, and Hawaii.

During her 30-year career with the VA health care system, Dr. Carmichael has made significant contributions to the system’s progressive pharmacy practice model, including the use of quality metrics to improve patient care and patient safety while lowering health care costs. She oversaw the development of pharmacist-run primary care and inpatient clinics at the VA Sierra Nevada Healthcare System, a program that received ASHP’s Best Practices in Health-System Pharmacy Award in 2002. She provided direct patient care in this environment for 20 years and continues to be credentialed and privileged as a VA clinical pharmacy specialist.

In her current role, she leads clinical pharmacy management initiatives that contribute to optimal prescribing practices for a variety of conditions and coordinates initiatives to improve patient care and drug safety. She is also responsible for the VISN 21 clinical data warehouse, health analytics, pharmacoeconomics, and pharmacoepidemiology programs. Dr. Carmichael is the pharmacy residency director for the VISN 21 postgraduate year 2 (PGY2) managed care system residency program. She has trained over 75 PGY1 and PGY2 residents during her career.

In addition to her VA leadership roles, Dr. Carmichael has authored hundreds of professional papers, book chapters, and research projects throughout her career. She is coauthor of the IMPROVE research project, a multicenter study of the clinical and economic benefits of clinical pharmacist interventions in VA medical centers.

An active member of national and state pharmacy associations, Dr. Carmichael is a past president of ASHP, a past chair of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, and a past member of the ASHP Commission on Credentialing, and she currently serves on the Pharmacy Practice Model Initiative planning and implementation groups. She has served as president of the Nevada Pharmacy Alliance and the Nevada Pharmaceutical Association. She was chair of the BCPS Pharmacotherapy Council and a member of the board of directors of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties, serving as 2007–09 board chair. Dr. Carmichael served on the Nevada Board of Pharmacy and is a member of the Accreditation Council on Pharmacy Education’s site evaluation teams for accrediting schools of pharmacy. She served on the National Quality Forum’s Medication Management Steering Committee and was a member of the technical expert panel for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ Maintenance and Development of Medication Measures initiative.

Dr. Carmichael received a bachelor of science in pharmacy degree from the University of Iowa and a doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of the Pacific. She is a past recipient of the Pharmacist of the Year award of the Nevada Society of Health-System Pharmacists and has also received the Bowl of Hygeia Award, the University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award, the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award, and the Robert G. Leonard Memorial Award. She holds the designations Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist, Fellow of APhA, and Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.