2021 Award Recipient

Shaping the Future of Pharmacy
William A. Miller
M.Sc., Pharm.D., FACCP, FASHP

Read Bio
Read Lecture (PDF)
Watch Interview

William A. Miller, M.Sc., Pharm.D., FACCP, FASHP

William A. Miller is a Professor Emeritus of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa.

He has held positions as a Director of Pharmacy (City Memphis Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee, and Medical University of South Carolina Medical Center, Charleston), academic chairman (College of Pharmacy, University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences, Memphis, College of Pharmacy, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, and College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa, Iowa City) as well as a teacher and student and resident preceptor.

He is the author of over one hundred publications. His research interests consist of evaluative and outcome studies dealing with pharmaceutical education and pharmacy practice.

He is a Past-President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. He served on the ASHP Commission on Credentialing, the accrediting body for pharmacy residency programs in the United States, for six years and was its chair for two years.

He is a recipient of the Parker Medal from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Award Lecture from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

He currently serves as a contract lead surveyor for the accreditation of residency programs by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, a consultant to the American Pharmacists Association, and as a member of the Board of Directors for the journal, Pharmacotherapy.