About the Award

The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award was established in 1950 by the Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy. The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award is given annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to health-system pharmacy, including sustained exemplary service, an outstanding single achievement, or a combination of accomplishments benefiting the profession and public health. The Award is considered to be the highest honor in health-system pharmacy.

In May of 1963, the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists presented a resolution to the ASHP Board of Directors to establish the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award as an ASHP award. The Award has been administered by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) ever since the resolution.

Award recipients are announced in the Spring of each year and required to present a lecture at the Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award banquet held during the ASHP Summer Meetings in June. Tickets are available to those who attend the ASHP Summer Meetings.

For more information about the award, award criteria and nominations contact ASHP.

4500 East-West Highway, Suite 900
Bethesda, Maryland 20814
Phone: (301) 657-3000
Web site: www.ashp.org

Back to Top